Women in Politics

WOMEN'S SUFFRAGE

A World Chronology of the Recognition of Women's Rights to Vote and to Stand for Election

Unless otherwise indicated, the date signifies the year women were granted the right both to vote and to stand for election. The countries listed below currently have a Parliament or have had one at some point in their history.

- 1788 United States of America (to stand for election)
- 1893 New Zealand (to vote)
- 1902 Australia*
- 1906 Finland
- 1907 Norway (to stand for election)*
- 1913 Norway**
- 1915 Denmark, Iceland
- 1917 Canada (to vote)*, Netherlands (to stand for election)
- 1918 Austria, Canada (to vote)*, Estonia, Georgia¹, Germany, Hungary, Ireland*, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russian Federation, United Kingdom*
- **1919** Belarus, Belgium (to vote)*, Luxembourg, Netherlands (to vote), New Zealand (to stand for election), Sweden*, Ukraine



British suffragette poster of 1905

- **1920** Albania, Canada (to stand for election)*, Czech Republic, Slovakia, United States of America (to vote)
- **1921** Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belgium (to stand for election)*, Georgia¹, Sweden**
- 1924 Kazakhstan¹, Mongolia, Saint Lucia, Tajikistan
- 1927 Turkmenistan
- 1928 Ireland**, United Kingdom**
- 1929 Ecuador*, Romania*
- 1930 South Africa (Whites), Turkey (to vote)
- 1931 Chile*, Portugal*, Spain, Sri Lanka
- 1932 Maldives, Thailand, Uruguay
- **1934** Brazil, Cuba, Portugal*, Turkey (to stand for election)
- 1935 Myanmar (to vote)
- 1937 Philippines
- 1938 Bolivia*, Uzbekistan
- 1939 El Salvador (to vote)
- 1941 Panama*
- **1942** Dominican Republic
- 1944 Bulgaria, France, Jamaica
- **1945** Croatia, Guyana (to stand for election), Indonesia, Italy, Japan¹, Senegal, Slovenia, Togo
- **1946** Cameroon, D.P.R. of Korea, Djibouti (to vote), Guatemala, Liberia, Myanmar (to stand for election), Panama**, Romania**, The F.Y.R. of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yugoslavia
- 1947 Argentina, Japan¹, Malta, Mexico (to vote), Pakistan, Singapore
- 1948 Belgium**, Israel, Niger, Republic of Korea, Seychelles, Suriname
- 1949 Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile**, China, Costa Rica, Syrian Arab Republic (to vote)*
- 1950 Barbados, Canada (to vote)**, Haiti, India
- **1951** Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Nepal, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

- 1952 Bolivia**, Côte d'Ivoire, Greece, Lebanon
- 1953 Bhutan, Guyana (to vote), Mexico (to stand for election), Syrian Arab Republic**
- 1954 Belize, Colombia, Ghana
- 1955 Cambodia, Eritrea², Ethiopia, Honduras, Nicaragua, Peru
- 1956 Benin, Comoros, Egypt, Gabon, Mali, Mauritius, Somalia
- 1957 Malaysia, Zimbabwe (to vote)**
- 1958 Burkina Faso, Chad, Guinea, Lao P.D.R., Nigeria (South)
- 1959 Madagascar, San Marino (to vote), Tunisia, United Republic of Tanzania
- 1960 Canada (to stand for election)**, Cyprus, Gambia, Tonga
- **1961** Bahamas*, Burundi, El Salvador (to stand for election), Malawi, Mauritania, Paraguay, Rwanda, Sierra Leone
- 1962 Algeria, Australia**, Monaco, Uganda, Zambia
- **1963** Afghanistan, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Fiji, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kenya, Morocco, Papua New Guinea (to stand for election)
- 1964 Bahamas**, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Papua New Guinea (to vote), Sudan
- 1965 Bostwana, Lesotho
- 1967 Democratic Republic of the Congo (to vote), Ecuador**, Kiribati, Tuvalu, Yemen (D.P. R.)
- 1968 Nauru, Swaziland
- **1970** Andorra (to vote), Democratic Republic of the Congo (to stand for election), Yemen (Arab Republic)
- 1971 Switzerland
- 1972 Bangladesh
- **1973** Andorra (to stand for election), Bahrain^{$\frac{3}{2}$}, San Marino (to stand for election)
- 1974 Jordan, Solomon Islands
- 1975 Angola, Cape Verde, Mozambique, Sao Tome and Principe, Vanuatu^{\perp}
- 1976 Portugal**
- 1977 Guinea Bissau
- **1978** Nigeria (North), Republic of Moldova¹, Zimbabwe (to stand for election)
- 1979 Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Fed. States), Palau
- 1980 Iraq, Vanuatu¹
- **1984** Liechtenstein, South Africa (Coloureds + Indians)
- 1986 Central African Republic, Djibouti (to stand for election)
- 1989 Namibia
- 1990 Samoa

Women in Politics

- **1993** Kazakhstan¹, Republic of Moldova¹
- 1994 South Africa (Blacks)

Women in **Kuwait** do not yet have the right to vote or to stand for election. In the **United Arab Emirates**, where the Parliament is officially appointed, neither men nor women have the right to vote or to stand for election.



^{*} Right subject to conditions or restrictions

^{**} Restrictions or conditions lifted

Reference to several dates reflects the stages in the granting of rights. It is not uncommon, in countries previously
under colonial rule, for women to have been granted the rights to vote and be elected by the colonial administration
and to have had them confirmed at the time of accession to independence. Similarly, it is not uncommon, in countries
that were formerly part of a federation and in which women were entitled to vote and be elected under the federal
legislation, for women to have had these rights confirmed under the Constitution of the newly independent State.
 In November 1955, Eritrea was part of Ethiopia. The Constitution of sovereign Eritrea adopted on 23 May 1997

stipulates that "All Eritrean citizens, of eighteen years of age or more, shall have the right to vote."